You can also call us on +44 (0)20 7170 7000, or select 'Live Chat' to chat with one of our advisors.

We will use any personal information you provide in this form to deal with the request or application you make. However, we may also use it to contact you in the future. For more details please refer to our Privacy Notice.

Our Board and Advisory Panel

The Carbon Trust Board and Advisory Panel

Our Board

The Carbon Trust Board

Baroness Brown

Julia King, Baroness Brown of Cambridge


Baroness Brown serves as Deputy Chair of the UK Committee on Climate Change, chairing its Adaptation Sub-Committee. She also acts as the UK’s Low Carbon Business Ambassador.

She is Chair of the Sir Henry Royce Institute for Advanced Materials, a Non-Executive Director of the Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult and a Council member of Innovate UK. She is a Fellow of both the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Royal Society.

Previous roles include a decade spent as the Vice-Chancellor of Aston University, serving as Principal of the Engineering Faculty at Imperial College, London, and a series of senior business and engineering posts at Rolls-Royce plc.

Tom Delay, Chief Executive, Carbon Trust

Tom Delay


Tom was appointed as the first Chief Executive of the Carbon Trust in 2001. Tom has extensive experience in the energy sector, with 16 years in commercial and operations roles at Shell, before moving into management consultancy with McKinsey and the Global Energy Practice of A.T. Kearney prior to joining the Carbon Trust.

Michael Rea

Michael Rea


Michael joined the Carbon Trust in 2002 as Director of Strategy, responsible for developing existing and new services to reduce carbon emissions and develop low carbon technologies. He has carried out a number of strategic and operational roles at the Carbon Trust, including Director of Technology Development and his current role of Chief Operating Officer.

Previously, Michael was at McKinsey & Co where he specialised both in corporate & business unit strategy and performance improvement. Prior to that Michael worked at Procter and Gamble in product supply.

Michael Rea is a graduate of University College Dublin where he completed a BEng (Mech) in 1991. He was awarded the faculty gold medal in his final year. He also completed an MBA at INSEAD, Paris in 1996.

Paul Jefferiss

Paul Jefferiss


Paul Jefferiss is Head of Policy at BP and has served on numerous government, academic  and private sector governance boards and advisory committees in the US, UK and EU, with a focus on energy, climate and the environment.

Dorothy Mackenzie

Dorothy MacKenzie


Dorothy is chairman of Dragon Rouge, which she co-founded c.20 years ago.  Dragon Rouge is a global design and innovation business using insights and creativity to deliver powerful brand performance. Dorothy has been a pioneer in promoting the integration of sustainability considerations into brand thinking to promote long-term brand success and environmental and social progress. 

Tim Weller

Tim Weller


Tim is Chief Financial Officer of G4S plc, the global integrated security group. Tim has previously served in CFO positions at Innogy, RWE, Thames Water, United Utilities Group, Cable and Wireless Worldwide and most recently at Petrofac.

Our Advisory Panel

The Carbon Trust Advisory Panel

Ian Stephenson, Carbon Trust Advisory panel

Ian Stephenson


Ian has extensive senior management experience, spending over twenty years at Johnson Matthey as it has grew to become a major international business and FTSE 100 company. He was a member of the company’s executive committee for much of that time. Ian was awarded an OBE in 2007 for Services to the Environment.


Leena Srivastava


Dr. Leena Srivastava is the vice chancellor of TERI University, New Delhi. Prior to this, she was the executive director at The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) for nearly ten years. She is an energy economist by training with extensive experience in energy and climate policy and regulatory issues.

Nina Skorupska

Nina Skorupska


Dr Nina Skorupska CBE FEI is the chief executive of the Renewable Energy Association, the UK’s largest renewables and clean technology trade association with over 750 company members. She previously held several senior leadership roles within the RWE Group, including joining the Board of the RWE’s Dutch business, Essent, as Chief Technical Officer. She is currently vice president of the European Renewable Energy Federation and member of the board of the Women in Science and Engineering Campaign. Nina was awarded a CBE in 2016.

Nina Shapiro, Carbon Trust Advisory panel

Nina Shapiro


Nina is the former vice president finance and treasurer of the World Bank Group’s International Finance Corporation. She was appointed treasurer in 2000 and vice president finance in 2003, and held those titles until she retired in 2011. Nina currently serves on the boards of Man Group, RusRail Leasing, African Minerals and is a member the World Bank Group Pension Board.

Anne 3

Anne Miller


Anne Miller is Director of the Creativity Partnership, with over 35 years of experience in technological innovation, low carbon opportunities and organisational change.  Previous she was a co-founder of TTP Group Plc, one of Europe's leading independent technology innovation organisations. She has also served on the Board of the British Antarctic Survey and advises a number of charities.

Peter Hobson, Carbon Trust Advisory panel

Peter Hobson


Peter Hobson is a Director at Sustainable Development Capital Limited. Prior to this, he was a senior banker in the Energy Efficiency and Climate Change Team of the EBRD and has over 25 years' experience in energy finance including project development, policy dialogue and sustainable development issues.

Pelham Hawker, Carbon Trust Advisory panel

Pelham Hawker


Pelham Hawker was an executive director at Johnson Matthey plc and ran many of that company’s businesses, as well as being appointed to the main board. He is currently chairman of Metalysis Ltd, chair of a panel allocating grants for low carbon vehicle infrastructure, an associate Professor at Cardiff University and serves on the advisory board to the faculty of science at Warwick University.

Fankhauser CCC small

Sam Fankhauser


Professor Samuel Fankhauser is Co-Director at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and Deputy Director of the ESRC-funded Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy, both at the London School of Economics. He is also an Associate Director at economics consultancy Vivid Economics and a Non-Executive Director of CDC Group. Previously, Sam worked at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the World Bank and the Global Environment Facility. From 2008 to 2016 he was a member of the UK Committee on Climate Change.

Salman Amin, Carbon Trust Advisory panel

Salman Amin


A. Salman Amin is Chief Executive Officer of Pladis, the global biscuit and confectionery company. He previously served as Chief Operating Officer for North America at S.C. Johnson and prior to this he was Global Chief Marketing Officer at PepsiCo.

Back to top